Little red stool

Alright, so I feel like most of my posts are about food, but I can’t help it.  I have always had a love/hate relationship with the stuff.  I LOVE to cook food and obviously love eating it just as much.   That’s where it has got me in trouble in the past.  God didn’t bless me with my Father’s speedy metabolism and I have had to work really hard over the years to keep my weight in check.  It has always been a struggle and always will be.  I am forever trying to figure out a balance between my passion for good eats and trying to be healthy. No easy task, right?  No magic solution.  So, I am just trying to eat less and exercise more.  Seems to be working.  

Who DOESN’T enjoy a good meal?!  I laugh every time I think about one of the psychiatrists at my previous job repeatedly asking the clients in his Eastern European accent, “Is food your friend?”  Well I don’t have a mental illness, but food is certainly my friend!  What a silly question. 

Anyway, when I come across a particularly delicious recipe I really like, I enjoy sharing it.  Even when my sister said she didn’t enjoy cooking and wasn’t too interested, I would still e-mail her recipes hoping to hook her in.  Natalie is now cooking at least 3 meals a week and I like to think my encouragement had something to do with it! 

My mom and I have always had this hobby in common.  One of the first memories I have are in the kitchen with my Mom and Grandma. I don’t think I was tall enough to see over the counter tops yet so I would stand on a kitchen chair or on my little red step stool.  Even when I didn’t feel like observing and learning my mom would say, “Come watch me do this so you know how. ” Well, at some point something must have clicked and the rest is history. 

Ok, back to the recipe.  So, this is another recipe found on Pinterest.  I didn’t take a picture, but trust me when I say this recipe is super simple and damn delicious.   I think that is the name of someone’s popular food blog, but I am stealing it. 😆 The recipe only has a few ingredients- chicken breasts, bbq sauce, yellow onion, and shredded cheddar. I added some green onions on top for extra zip.  We used Weber bbq sauce and it tasted awesome…peas and Zatarains yellow rice were the sides.  Perfect meal!  I baked mine on 375 degrees for 40 minutes even though the recipe suggested 350 degrees.  Just makes me and the hubs feel safer. 

http://www.thepinningmama.com/easy-barbecue-chicken-bake/?m
Happy cooking!

Love,

J. 

Leave a Reply

