2 words…BACON WEAVE

Summer is the perfect time for one of America’s favorite sandwiches, the BLT.  I have always cooked my bacon (which is like twice a year) in the microwave, but it’s always such a mess.  I can’t remember where I recently saw the idea to weave your bacon slices.  The main benefit is to keep your slices nicely on your sandwich without falling out so I wanted to give it a try.  The baking method also seems easier to me than using the microwave.

I found this 2 minute tutorial which I used as a general guide. 

http://www.foodandwine.com/blogs/2015/03/02/how-to-make-a-bacon-weave-for-the-worlds-best-blt
I’m not sure if my brain wasn’t working today or what, but the weaving of the bacon on the video seemed complicated so I improvised.  I still followed the instructions of cutting the bacon in half.  I laid 3 of the slices vertically. The other 3 slices I “wove” through horizontally doing the over-under technique. 5 bacon weaves total.  Really simple.  I bet kids would love to help with this part!

Before pic of the 5 bacon weaves.  The little piece in the bottom right corner was for Brutus. 😊 

 

I cooked it for 20 minutes on 400 degrees.   
  Put them on some paper towels to soak up the excess grease.   
Voila!  Don’t forget to add the avocado slices!  Makes it so much better. 

  Yummy.  

Depending on the size of your family or how good you are trying to be with your diet,  this could make 5 sandwiches.  Or, hypothetically speaking, you could do double bacon or just eat the extra weaves by themselves and then it is a perfect dinner for 2 people who really love bacon. 😉

Happy Eating!

Love,

J. 

Leave a Reply

